The Trenchermen

We eat other people’s food.

Carousel Bakery (Toronto)

leave a comment »

Carousel

Home of a pretty damn good peameal bacon sandwich.  I think this is what people in the US refer to as Canadian bacon.

Peameal bacon is a slightly pickled/cured piece of pork loin that is rolled in peameal.  Its then sliced and cooked up on a griddle.  And, its damn good.  Carousel Bakery is at the St. Lawrence Market.  They make a pretty solid peameal bacon sandwich on a pillowy roll.  They also have whole grilled jalapeno peppers which you can throw in there.

I had a medical exam for my greencard nearby this morning so afterward I swung by on my way up to my office.  I skipped the peppers but I did put some very spicy (in the front of the nose wasabi kind of way) maple mustard. Here are some photos.

 

SLM

sando3

sando1

sando2

Written by jayrhu

August 4, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Posted in Restaurants, Street Food

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

